French Toast Pancakes

Doesn’t that sound amazing? I thought so too. I absolutely love the flavor of french toast, but I hate to use up so much bread. This recipe has been slightly modified from the original recipe for Oatmeal Pancakes.

On the Griddle

I actually decided to make these because I ruined my last jar of Homemade “Shake and Pour” Pancake Mix. I woke up substantially later than planned on Friday and spent the morning working on a homework assignment for my Advanced EMT class on Saturday. At noon, I realized that I hadn’t thought to eat and my boyfriend was making rumblings about holding a “Starvation Club” meeting with the cats (if the bottom of the food bowl is showing, they’re starving to death).

I forgot to break the yolk when I added it to the jar, but everything looked perfectly mixed. Then I poured out the first few pancakes and out dropped a whole yolk. Oops…

Desperate for a solution, I found this wonderful recipe. I used whole eggs in place of the egg whites called for in the original recipe because I just can’t think of a good use for 6 orphaned yolks. Except for the syrup, these are actually pretty healthy!

Pancakes and Syrup

Ingredients:
3 eggs
1 cup rolled oats, dry**
1 cup cottage cheese
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

In a blender, blend all ingredients until smooth. Heat a griddle or large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Spray with non-stick cooking spray. For each pancake pour 1/4 cup of batter onto griddle. Flip when they start to bubble. Cook until golden brown. Repeat with remaining batches, spraying the griddle as needed. Makes about 10 pancakes.

**Some brands are processed with wheat. To make these gluten free, make sure that your oats are not processed with wheat or wheat-based ingredients.

2 thoughts on “French Toast Pancakes

  1. This is such a fun idea! There’s a lot of mornings where I can’t decide whether I want french toast or pancakes, and since I’m too indecisive, I end up eating neither and pouring a bowl of cereal instead. Your solution is so much better!

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon-Apple Syrup | Cookies with Friends

Leave a comment