Mac ‘n’ Cheese in a Mug

Boyfriend works every Wednesday from 6pm to 6am at a local volunteer EMS agency. That leaves me to fend for myself once a week. Often, I’ll make dinner earlier in the day, send him with his serving, and stow mine in the fridge until I’m ready to eat. Today, I made the second batch of Hobo Meatball Stew (a freezer crock pot meal that Boyfriend enjoyed but I hated). Since I don’t like to waste food, making it for him on a day when he could take it to go made lots of sense. Unfortunately, that left me without a plan for dinner.

Out of desperation (and hunger), I turned to pinterest and rediscovered a link to 18 Microwave Snacks You Can Cook in a Mug. The Mac ‘n’ Cheese nearly jumped off the screen at me….until I realized that I didn’t have any macaroni in the pantry.

Not one to be easily defeated, I turned to couscous, a staple that I always have around. Microwave couscous ‘n’ cheese it was!

Couscous n Cheese

Ingredients:
1/3 C couscous
1/2 C water
3 Tbsp milk**
1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese

Combine couscous and water in a mug. Microwave on high for 2 minutes. Remove from the microwave and stir. Return to the microwave for 2-4 more minutes, stirring after every two minutes, until all of the water is absorbed and the pasta is tender. Add 2-3 more Tbsp of water if necessary for the last 2 minutes.

Add the milk and cheese. Stir to combine. Microwave for one minute more, and stir until the cheese is fully combined. Add a pinch of salt and pepper if desired. Enjoy!

**If you decide to use regular macaroni, increase the milk to 1/4 C.

Leave a Reply

