Ginger Carrot Cake with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting (Wheat/grain and oil free)

Ginger Carrot Cake with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting
You might need to stage an intervention…or sign me up for chickpeas anonymous. I’m pretty sure Boyfriend has heard enough about chickpeas over the last month to last him forever. I suspect that the only reason he hasn’t taped my mouth shut yet is that he benefits from my delicious experiments. But even I must admit it…my chickpea addiction is becoming a problem. I’m baking so much now that I’m having to bribe friends and co-workers to take the resulting morsels off my hands. Chickpeas cakes and cookies may be relatively healthy, but even they will expand the waist-line if eaten too often. Oh well, I suppose I could be obsessed with worse things. At least I’m an EMT with lots of firefighter friends; firefighters will eat (almost) anything.

This week was a perfect storm of available ingredients and cooking inspiration. I cooked up an entire bag of dried chickpeas for the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies earlier this week, so I had quite a few left over. Our CSA bag has also been brimming with carrots for the last two weeks. I’ve been very interested in baking with chickpeas and I wanted to branch out beyond cookies. What better way to use up sweet carrots and delicious chickpeas than in a carrot cake?

I knew that it had to be possible, but I had no idea where to start. After a few days of searching through recipes, I figured out the magic ingredients from which a variety of delicious cakes could take shape: two cups of cooked chickpeas, 4 eggs, and one teaspoon of baking powder. With those three ingredients, magic happens. All of the reviews for chickpea cakes were positive, and quite a few said that the chickpeas were an all-but-invisible secret ingredient, so I was quite hopeful about this one. Then again, I had never done anything quite like this, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Luckily, those three ingredients really are magical and the flavors of carrot and ginger shined in this moist and delicious cake! The frosting is mildly sweet with just a hint of lemony tang and compliments the cake without overwhelming it.

I’m always looking for new ways to cook things. What’s your favorite way to use fresh carrots?

Ingredients
2 Cups chickpeas, rinsed and drained
4 eggs
3/4 Cup dark brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cardamon
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1-2 Cups grated carrot

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Add the eggs and chickpeas to a blender or food processor and process until smooth; this can be done in two batches if necessary. Spoon the puree into a bowl and add the remaining ingredients stirring until fully combined. The batter should be thin.

Grease an 8×8-inch cake pan*. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before frosting. While the cake is cooling, prepare the frosting.

*If using a 9×9-inch square pan, reduce baking time to 40 minutes.

8 oz Cream cheese
1/4 Cup Butter (if using salted butter, omit salt)
1/2 tsp Lemon extract
1/2 tsp Salt
1 Cup Powdered sugar, sifted

Whip together the cream cheese, butter, extract, and salt until light and airy. Add the powdered sugar and whip until smooth. Keep this frosting (and anything you cover in it) refrigerated.

Leave a Reply

