Blueberry Muffin in a Mug

I’m beginning to wonder how I survived my childhood, eating cold cereal or microwave oatmeal on most school mornings. Growing up, we occasionally made blueberry muffins on weekends from a boxed mix that came with a small tin of “real Maine blueberries.” These days, I live in Maine and I can get fresh blueberries close to home during the summer.

Homemade blueberry muffins are by far my favorite kind, but I’m the only real muffin lover in the house. It’s not worth making a whole pan of muffins when I’m the only one who will eat them, so I rarely get to have any.

This recipe was requested by another friend of mine, although I was planning on getting around to it soon anyways. A few months ago, I tried my hand at canning blueberries. With four pints sitting in the cabinet, I was looking for ways to start using them up. Once again, mug cooking seemed like a great option. I don’t know why it took me so long to think of trying this!

WARNING: Give this a minute or two to cool when it’s finished. The miracle of microwave cooking makes the blueberries hot enough to incinerate your tongue. No…I don’t know that from experience…really.

Blueberry Muffin in a Mug

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp butter, softened
2 Tbsp + 2 tsp sugar
1/2 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp milk
1/3 Cup all-purpose flour
Slightly heaping 1/4 tsp baking powder
Pinch salt
Dash cinnamon
Smidgen nutmeg
1/3 Cup blueberries

In a mug, cream the butter and sugar. Add the egg and stir;
add the milk and stir again. Add the dry ingredients and stir
until thoroughly mixed. Gently fold in the blueberries.

Microwave on high for up to 3 minutes, checking after 90 seconds.
(In an 1100 watt microwave, my muffin cooked in 2 minutes and 15 seconds.)

One thought on “Blueberry Muffin in a Mug

  1. Pingback: Homemade Microwave Chicken Pot Pie | Cookies with Friends

Leave a Reply

