Cornbread in a Mug

Saturday, I took a batch of bite-sized brownies to my Advanced EMT class. A few of us started talking about recipes, and I mentioned my new obsession with mug cooking. One student, Kevin, asked if I would make cornbread my next mug project. Well, in honor of Kevin, here it is!

Cornbread for Kevin

Cornbread for Kevin

I’ve had jars of cornbread mix sitting in the pantry for a while. Instead of mixing up a whole bunch of ingredients, it made sense to try and use a portion of the mix I already had. For most of these mug recipes, I aim for what would amount to two muffins worth when fully cooked.

For this one, I used 1/3 Cup of cornbread mix, 1/2 an egg (lightly beaten), and a scant 1/4 Cup of milk with just enough vinegar to make 1/4 Cup. It’s light, spongey, and perfect! From now on when I make chili, I won’t bother with a whole pan of cornbread. I’ll just pop two mugs into the microwave for Boyfriend and I!

The recipe for the mix is below. I find it handy because I can just scoop out what I need. If you’d like to mix up just enough for a single serving, please see the adjustments at the bottom.

Edited to add: Boyfriend does not like cornbread, but he finally tried this and gave it 5 FORKS! This is the first time he’s ever given all 5 forks, so that says a lot!

Ingredients for Northern Cornbread Mix:
1 Cup yellow cornmeal
1 Cup unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
4 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt

Whisk together all of the ingredients and store in a pint canning jar or other air-tight container.

Scant 1/4 Cup milk
Enough vinegar to make 1/4 Cup (I prefer cider vinegar, but distilled white works as well)
1/2 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 Cup cornbread mix

In the mug, combine the milk and vinegar, stir gently, and allow to sit for 5 minutes. Add the egg and cornbread mix, stir to combine. Microwave on high for up to 3 minutes; my microwave is 1100 watts and the cornbread was fully cooked in 90 seconds.

To make a single serving, add the following in place of 1/3 Cup of cornbread mix:
2 Tbsp + 2 tsp yellow cornmeal
2 Tbsp +2 tsp all-purpose flour
Slightly heaping 1/4 tsp baking powder
Pinch baking soda
3/4 tsp sugar
Pinch salt

To make a whole pan of cornbread:
1 jar cornbread mix (see recipe above)
2 large eggs
2/3 Cup buttermilk
2/3 Cup milk
2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Pour one jar of mix into a large mixing bowl and make a well in the middle. Crack the eggs into the well and stir lightly with a wooden spoon, then add the buttermilk and milk. Stir the wet and dry ingredients quickly until almost combined. Add the melted butter and stir until the ingredients are just combined.

Pour the batter into the greased pan. Bake until the top of the cornbread is golden brown and lightly cracked and the edges have pulled away from the sides of the pan, about 25 minutes.

Transfer the pan to a wire rack and cool slightly, 5 to10 minutes. Cut the cornbread into squares and serve warm. Pan can be wrapped in foil and stored a room temperature for up to 1 day. Reheat cornbread in a 350°F oven for 10 to 15 minutes.

The inspiration for this recipe came from Golden Northern Cornbread by Kelly Rossiter.

Leave a Reply

