Banana Bread in a Mug

I am obsessed with cooking things in mugs. Boyfriend works nights, so I usually only cook one big meal for him, and then I eat the leftovers for dinner the next day. The rest of the time I’m on my own and I hate making a lot of food when I’m only hungry for something small. Microwave mug cooking has been the perfect solution.

Up until now, I’ve been working exclusively from other people’s established recipes. I had half of a banana left over from a PB&Banana sandwich the other day, so I decided to make banana bread in a mug to use it up. Unfortunately, all of the recipes I found called for a whole egg and a whole banana for just one little mug. In my regular recipe, one egg and three bananas makes a whole loaf pan, so it seemed a little bit out of proportion.

I’m still a little leery when it comes to baking and I like to stick to recipes exactly as they’re written, but I wasn’t happy with anything I found. It seemed my only choice was to depart from the script and try to create my own. The result was absolutely perfect.

In a mug, mash the banana with a fork.

With a fork, mash your banana in the mug.


 
Add the egg, oil, and extract and stir. Add in the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Stir until fully combined.

Add in the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Stir until fully combined.


 
Microwave for up to 3 minutes, checking after 90 seconds. Mine was on the verge of overflowing, so I paused it at 45 seconds to let it settle before finishing the cooking. (Mine took 90 seconds total.)

Microwave for up to 3 minutes, checking after 90 seconds. Mine was on the verge of overflowing, so I paused it at 45 seconds to let it settle before finishing the cooking. (Mine took 90 seconds total.)


 
If you prefer your bread slightly brown like it's fresh out of the oven (I do!), place it under the broiler with the oven door slightly open. Cook just until the top is a golden brown. Do not walk away, because it can turn from golden to charred.

If you prefer your bread slightly brown like it’s fresh out of the oven (I do!), place it under the broiler with the oven door slightly open. Cook just until the top is a golden brown. Do not walk away, because it can quickly turn from golden to charred.


 
Serve warm with a little bit of butter.

Serve warm with a little butter.


 
Ingredients:
1/2 Banana
1/2 Egg, lightly beaten (or 1 egg yolk)
Scant Tbsp Vegetable oil
Dash Vanilla extract
4 Tbsp All-purpose flour
2 Tbsp + 2 tsp Sugar
Scant 1/4 tsp Baking soda
Pinch Salt

In a mug, mash the banana with a fork. Add the egg, oil, and extract and stir. Add the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Stir until fully combined. Microwave for up to 3 minutes, checking after 90 seconds. Mine was on the verge of overflowing, so I paused it at 45 seconds to let it settle before finishing the cooking. (Mine took 90 seconds total.)

If you prefer your bread slightly brown like it’s fresh out of the oven (I do!), place it under the broiler with the oven door slightly ajar. Cook just until the top is a golden brown. Do not walk away, because it can quickly turn from golden to charred.

Serve warm with a little bit of butter.

Leave a Reply

