Nutella Mug Cake

Now that the weather is nice and the chance of winter weather is all but gone, it’s time for spring cleaning. We have wonderful mats in our entry way that trap the water and sand so we don’t track it through the house all winter long. Unfortunately, they haven’t been cleaned since some time in January. I pulled them up, and the floor underneath was absolutely caked with dried winter sludge. I swept up as much as I could, but parts of the floor still had a thick layer of the muck. After the first mopping, I took a break to let it dry and thought I’d make myself a treat to pass the time.

Image of Nutella Mug Cake by live love pasta

Doesn’t that look beautiful? As soon as I saw it on live love pasta, I knew that I had to try it. After making Nutella Filled Banana Muffins last weekend, I had half of a jar of Nutella floating around, so I ran out of excuses not to make some.

Ingredients:
4 tablespoons self-rising flour
4 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
3 tablespoons cocoa powder
3 tablespoons Nutella
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Whipped cream, if desired
½ cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon sugar

Batter

Combine all ingredients in a large coffee mug. Whisk well with a fork until smooth. Microwave on high for 1½– 3 minutes. (Time depends on microwave; mine took 1½ minutes.)

Nutella Cake Fail
This is how mine turned out. It doesn’t exactly have the souffle quality of the one above. It certainly rose, right out of my giant mug! The recipe calls for a large mug, so I used my extra large 11 ounce cafe style college mug. If this won’t hold it all, I don’t know what will. I would actually recommend splitting this batter into two mugs and watching it carefully in the microwave. If it looks like it’s going to overflow, pause it to let it settle a bit and then continue cooking. Despite its forlorn appearance, it tasted as good as that first picture looked!

 
 
 
Add heavy cream to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment and whip on medium-high speed until almost stiff. Add sugar and beat until heavy cream forms stiff peaks. Top Mug Cakes with whipped cream and a little chocolate sauce, if desired.

Leave a Reply

