Dark Chocolate Hot Fudge Sauce

I am on a quest…a quest to replicate my favorite brownie mix, Betty Crocker Ultimate Fudge Premium Brownie Mix with Hershey’s. I am famous for these brownies. I’ve been making them for several years, baking them in cupcake tins and serving them still warm; they quite literally melt in your mouth. I’ve also been known to bake them in a square cake pan and serve warm “pile-of-brownie” because I can’t wait long enough for them to cool before attempting to cut and serve them.

Now that I am working to eliminate processed foods and unnecessary chemicals from my diet, my poor brownie mix is out of the question (much to the disappointment of my friends). Unfortunately, I hate homemade brownies. I find them too cake-like, dry, and flavorless. However, I am bound and determined to find a solution. My friend, Roland, has been waiting for brownies since well before I began eliminating processed food, and I can’t let him down now.

My first task in my brownie-making quest was to replicate the fudge sauce. My favorite boxed mix includes a packet of fudge sauce and melt-away chocolate chips. I can live without the chips, but the fudge sauce makes so much difference in the texture and flavor. I found this recipe for Hershey’s Hot Fudge Sauce from MasterCook and decided to give it a try. This recipe makes approximately 2 1/2 cups; it just fit in a pint-sized canning jar.

Fudge Sauce in a Jar
Ingredients:
3/4 C Sugar
1/3 C Light corn syrup
1/2 C Hershey’s cocoa (I used Special Dark for this one)
1/3 C Butter
5 oz Evaporated milk
1 tsp Vanilla

Simmering Chocolate Sauce

Combine sugar and cocoa in small saucepan; blend in evaporated milk and corn syrup. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture boils; boil and stir one minute. Remove from heat; stir in butter and vanilla. Serve warm.

Butter and Vanilla

I put mine in a sterile canning jar, allowed it to cool, and stored it in the refrigerator.

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Hot Fudge Sauce

  1. Pingback: Minute Brownie in a Mug | Cookies with Friends

  2. Pingback: Homemade Brownies (that taste like a mix!) | Cookies with Friends

Leave a Reply

